INEXORABLE – Sea Of Dead Consciousness | Aristocrazia Webzine

INEXORABLE – Sea Of Dead Consciousness

Band: Inexorable
Title: Sea Of Dead Consciousness
Year: 2016
Country: Germany
Label: Godz Ov War Productions

Facebook  Reverbnation




  1. I
  2. II
  3. III
  4. IV [traccia bonus]
  5. De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas [cover Mayhem]
  6. I Feel Nothing [cover Immolation]
  7. Black Magic Mushrooms [cover Mysticum]

This is the second time that I stumble upon the German band Inexorable, it's actually been seven years since I wrote about their EP "Deathlands" back in 2010; here I am again, with their third effort "Sea Of Dead Consciusness" in my hands, after having missed out on the previous mini "Morte Sola".

This creature seems to have evolved into a chaotic death metal form, ritualistic and very close to primordial black metal, so much so that the first impact with the four new tracks — the fourth one was not included in the cassette version released by Unholy Prophecies — was a bit weird indeed. Nevertheless, a few spins later, perhaps because I quite enjoy bands such as Portal and Impetuous Ritual or because I kept on perceiving a certain morbid presence coming from the Florida scene, I eventually got used to this odd and malevolent horde rushing towards me.

In fact, the band's main intention appears to be that of creating a kind of sound capable of annihilating any glimmer of light or hope; this aspect is also made very clear in the verses featured on the booklet:

«Fate is fully inexorable
The fate of men lies in death
And there is nothing one can do but die
There is no hope only destination one end!
There is no hope in doing
There is no hope in idleness
There is no hope in belief
There is no hope in sermons
All hope is in vain
There is no warmth in humid soul
Our cold shelter in fathomless

No life, no illusions, only death.»

Despite my initial doubts, in the end I could appreciate the evolution of the band, and also their choice to pay homage to three classic bands with their own versions of "De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas" by Mayhem, "I Feel Nothing" by Immolation, and Mysticum's "Black Magic Mushrooms". This record strengthened the idea that the path followed by Inexorable is the most suitable to them, so at this point we just have to sit back and wait for a longer work, hoping it comes around soon.