PERISHED – Kark | Aristocrazia Webzine


Band: Perished
Title: Kark
Year: 1998
Re-release: 2017
Country:   Norway
Label: ATMF


Translation: Crypt Of Fear

  1. Introduksjon
  2. Imens Vi Venter…
  3. Stier Til Visdoms Krefter
  4. På Nattens Vintervinger
  5. Iskalde Strømmer
  6. …Og Spjuta Fauk
  7. Befri De Trolske Toner
  8. Renheten Og Gjenkomsten
  9. A Landscape Of Flames [vynil bonus track from the demo"Through The Black Mist"]
  10. Kald Som Aldri Før [from the "Perished" EP]
  11. Gjennom Skjærende Lys [from the "Perished" EP]
RUNNING TIME: 01:03:09

Perished is a name I am attached to: I have known the band from a lifetime, but I had the opportunity to deepen my knowledge about them only around the early years of 2000, during my visits to the now defunct Elegy Records (Sinoath’s drummer Salvo Fichera’s label) and on the occasion of one of the lives made in Scordia; the Sicilians will remember with a little nostalgia the period of Krossover’s metal concert activity…

"Kark" became a repeated listening during the drive there with my friends. This album is as fascinating as it is underrated. I don't think it's a masterpiece, but I believe that, in a brilliant and uncompromising way, it was able to merge two souls with wisdom: the classical symphonic one and the harshest and roughest of early Nineties Norwegian black metal, making them become Indispensable for each other.

The tracklist contains a series of songs in which the abundant melody (never corny or tedious), pagan nature and a convincing compositional formula — albeit attributable to the best known Norwegian names — are revealing fundamental elements. The work is devoid of obvious drops in quality and even if almost twenty years have passed (the first print for Solistitium Records occurred in 1998) should not find particular difficulties in breaching the hearts of anyone who has remained emotionally bound to the golden years of the genre.

Perished remained in the sidelines, however they should not be forgotten: the recovery operation of "Kark" by the Italian label ATMF — in the coming months the vinyl version with text insert and a 7" bonus containing the tracks from the 1996 eponymous EP will also be released — provides the opportunity to listen to a band that could have received more attention with a little more luck. Don't let it escape.